July Wrap-Up | 2015

I read all the books I had on my TBR list plus a few more. I also read several comic books, but since they’re just issues I won’t include them in my wrap up, though I will include the two graphic novels that I read. But I’m actually quite proud of myself for the amount of reading I got done this month, especially considering I starting nannying in the afternoons last week. That said, here are the books I read in July:

  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – I had fun reading this, but I didn’t love it. It was simplistic and filled with story tropes that are often seen in YA contemporary. It also was extremely predictable and filled with cliches. There wasn’t anything about the story line that surprised me because I saw it coming before I reached the scene that it happened in. That said, I haven’t decided if I’m going to read the other two books in this companion trilogy or not. If I do, then I’ll be checking them out of the library like I did with this one. I did still enjoy reading it. I gave it 3 out of 5 stars. I’m just somewhat picky about contemporary since I don’t read it much. The romance in this also felt a bit like instanta love.
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – Finally got around to reading this and I absolutely loved it. I also read somewhere that Cline got the idea for this from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory because he wanted to create the Willy Wonka of video game creators and what it would be like if that video game creator left a contest as his legacy when he died. It also ued the whole egg hunt thing that some games have hidden within them (started in the 80s when a video game creator left his name hidden within the game itself because it was back when video game creators weren’t credited). The contestant who got through all the levels and found the egg would win all of the creator’s fortunes. I literally felt like I had been sucked into a video game whilst reading it. It truly was an immersive experience. I rated it 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend if you have any amount of nerd in you. You won’t be disappointed.
  • Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Search: Part 1 by Gene Luen Yang – I liked this a lot and rated it 4 out of 5 stars. I’m planning on checking the other parts of The Search out of the library to finish reading all of The Search.
  • The Dalek Project by Justin Richards – Loved this. It was an eleventh doctor adventure and I really enjoyed it. I rated it 5 out of 5 stars.
  • The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot – This is a reread for me as I decided I wanted to read all the books again before I read Royal Wedding, which came out a couple months ago. I loved this even more than I did the first time around. This is 3 out of 5 stars for me.
  • Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot – Volume II in the Mia series. I rated this one 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine – I loved this so much. It’s basically about how the Great Library controls what you can read, as well as making it impossible to own actual books. People read off of the codex (I suppose like a tablet in a way) the books that the librarians of the Great Library allow them to read. The main character, Jess, is one of the teenagers that gets accepted into librarian training, which takes place in Alexandria, Egypt. These teens in the training are picked down as they’re put through these challenges to test their skills and strengths. There are only six open slots and over thirty people enter the rigorous training program. It truly is a fantastical adventure and I loved it. It gave me the same feeling that the Harry Potter books give me. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars. If you love books, then you’ll enjoy this book, which is the first in a new series titled The Great Library.
  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – I rated this 5 out of 5 stars and absolutely loved it. I’ll post the review I wrote for this on goodreads in a separate post.
  • The Martian by Andy Weir – I loved this so much. It’s hard science fiction, so if you get bogged down reading science-y topics and things in novels then this might not be for you. However, the main character, Mark Watney is such a solid character. He’s hilarious and relatable. I laughed out loud so many times while reading this and it’s definitely a book I already know I’ll want to reread time and time again. The tone that Andy Weir uses whilst writing from Watney, and even in the chapters set on earth between the NASA workers as they discuss what actions to take and how to keep Watney alive as he gets left behind on Mars in the aftermath of a unexpected sand storm that struck as the Ares 3 crew were conducting their research, thus cutting their excursion short. It was filled with dark humor and lightheartedness. I loved everything about this novel.

And there you have it. Those are the books I read last month. I’ll put together a new TBR list and have that posted at some point this week.

Leave a Reply

