Inside Out Book Tag | 2015

The original Inside Out Book Tag was posted by Kristina Horner on Youtube and you should definitely go look it up because it’s great. Basically, for this tag you were supposed to list a book that made you feel one of each of the five emotions that are showcased in Pixar’s latest motion picture, Inside Out. I absolutely loved this film and can’t possibly resist doing this tag, even if I’m doing it in blog form instead of as a vlog. I’m more of a blogger than a vlogger. And, without further ado, I give you the books that brought up these emotions within me.

JOY

Harry Potter series – I grew up with these books and was reading them as they were released. I also reread these books so many times in my youth that I lost track. I felt like I was transported into the world of Harry Potter each time I opened one of the books and I just loved it, especially in middle school when I was going through a whole host of awkward stages. My favorite book in the series will always be Prisoner of Azkaban because it’s the one that really helped me through middle school, like a security blanket. I have nothing but thoughts of positivity and happiness circling the memories I’ve made because of Harry Potter over the years. I’ve met a countless number of people that I hold up as the best of my friends from the conventions and websites I’ve been a part of because of the Harry Potter fandom.

DISGUST

I had to think about this one for a bit because there are a handful of books that made me feel disgust throughout my years while I was reading them. I read an innumerable amount of Goosebump books by R. L. Stine when I was younger because my elementary school’s library had quite the collection of them available for check-out. Then there was the disgust I felt when Carrie was covered in pig’s blood at prom when I first read Stephen King’s Carrie when I was in high school. I’ve also read a few books more recently that have left me with that feeling of disgust. I decided I’d go with a more recent read, especially since it’s a trilogy, which is the No Safety in Numbers trilogy. Some of the parts in these three books were just too vivid and made me feel disgust, even more than anything else because it seemed so real, like something that could truly happen in real life; people trapped in a mall when a biohazard is released via the central air vent, the order is to lock all the people in this mall to avoid exposing the country/world to this virus (it’s a new super flu bug virus that’s more deadly than any before). The things that some of the characters do to each other just just… yuck. The vividness of the violence had me grimacing whilst reading.

SADNESS

Sadness was definitely my favorite emotion from Inside Out. She was just the best. Basically, she was the reality of what it means to be human in this film and I loved how Pixar built the story around her. It’s hard to list any one book that has made me cry tears of sadness because I’ve been touched by many novels that have left me in tears. I suppose I’ll just list one of my favorites that has made me cry, and that credit goes to The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It’s just written so beautifully and magnificently that I felt for every single character and what they were going through. If you haven’t read this novel, then I honestly don’t know what you’re doing with your life. Go read it. Now. Just read it. There are no more excuses to justify not reading this. The movie is also an excellent adaption, but there’s still something about the novel that didn’t translate fully over to the film.

ANGER

I can only think of Asylum by Madeleine Voux because I was left with so much rage for wasting the time I did reading this novel because the writing was dull and dry. It messed up my reading experience because all I could think while I was reading this was how I could be reading or doing something more important than reading. But I kept giving it the benefit of the doubt because so many people loved it, but it just fell flat for me.

FEAR

The book that brought me fear that I’ve read this year definitely goes to The Harvest Man by Alex Grecian. It made me check all the closets/rooms in my apartment before I could fall asleep, and even then I had a nightmare or two. I definitely recommend reading this during daylight hours and not right before bed. Then again, if you really want to freak yourself out, then by all means read this after the sun sets.

Now, if you haven’t watched Pixar’s Inside Out, then you should. It’s so real and definitely a new favorite. Pixar is just brilliant. Also, I tag you to do this tag. It’s a lot of fun. You know you want to. Go ahead, I dare you.

Leave a Reply

