September TBR | 2015

Hopefully I’ll be able to read more this month now that I’m settled back into work for the new school year. I’m going to start my half-marathon training in the middle of this month, but that won’t suck up too much of my free time since I mostly find time to read on my break and in the evenings before bed. Here are a few books I hope to get to this month.

  • This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee – A steampunk reimagining of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. I’ve already started reading this and am loving it. I have a physical ARC that I won on goodreads so I’ll be posting an honest review after I finish it. It releases at the end of this month.
  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo – Because I need to read this conclusion to the Grisha trilogy.
  • Forged by Erin Bowman – Need to read this conclusion to the Taken trilogy.
  • Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater – Need to read both these books since Raven King comes out at the beginning of next year. I’m also ready to dive back into this world.
  • Finish reading Armada by Ernest Cline so I can post my honest review.
  • I also have a couple other ARCs I need to read (should be fast reads since they’re relatively short).

We’ll see how many of these I get to this month as I’m sure I won’t read this whole list. It’s just nice to have a set list to pull titles from so that I know what to read next. It also gives the illusion that I’m organized.

4 thoughts on “September TBR | 2015

  1. I really, really want to read This Monstrous Thing because I loved Frankenstein when I read for class earlier this year. I’ve been seeing it everywhere too—it’s like it’s taunting me!

    1. It’s so good. Mackenzi Lee quotes some of The Rime of the Ancient Mariner in it since Mary Shelley liked that poem and how fitting it was for Frankenstein. It’s also so original and such a fresh take on Frankenstein. There’s also a segregation between those with clockwork limbs/inner workings and those without any (like the Jewish were segregated during the Holocaust by wearing the star of David because people with any kind of clockwork added to their bodies have to wear a symbol for display).

  2. It comes out at the end of the month.. I think 9/21. I’ve promised my physical ARC to one of my other reviewer friends. I can see if she can send it to you after she reads it, though.

Leave a Reply

