Top Five Wednesday | Title Fonts

Top Five Wednesday was created by gingerreadslainey on youtube and anyone is welcome to join the group on goodreads. This week’s top is title fonts. My interest definitely peaks when I seen a title font that I like, almost as much as a handsome book cover. This’ll be hard to choose from, but I guess I’ll pick my favorites from my shelve.

  • Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – I grew up reading these books and the fact that the lightning bolt font stayed the same for the movies just made this series even more for me. I just automatically associate it with Harry Potter. If I see a book with similar font I always think Harry Potter before I actually read it to discover it’s something else. There’s just too much of my childhood attached with reading the series to not mention it.
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik [U.S. cover] – This font just makes me think of the font in the old, illustrated copies of Cinderella where it starts ‘Once upon a time…’. I just love it so much. Anything that has a fairy tale theme/font and I’m sold. I’m such a [day]dreamer.
  • The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider – I went through a phase in middle school and high school where I would change up my handwriting (like so many of my friends) when I wrote notes in those comp books back and forth between my friends and I. And the font on this cover reminds me of one of the most common handwriting fonts my friends and I wrote in the majority of the time.
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – The font just screams high fantasy, which I love reading. I also associate dragons with high fantasy, so it’s always a huge plus when there are dragons in any high fantasy novel that I read. Plus I feel like the Grisha trilogy is self-explanatory.
  • The Martian by Andy Weir [the original U.S. paperback cover] – I love the simplicity of this font against the orange-red backdrop of Mars with the astronaut on the cover.
Leave a Reply

