Book Review | My Year of Running Dangerously by Tom Foreman

My Year of Running Dangerously is a memoir about one runner who lets his daughter talk him back into running by helping her train for a marathon. After they run a half and a marathon together, Foreman takes on the daunting task of training for a 50-mile ultra marathon. This is his journey through all of the training, half marathons, and marathons that led up to that ultra marathon. It was inspiring to read, even the parts where he said he felt like giving up. Yet he didn’t. He persevered and got his medal after completing the 55-mile course. All of his training led to the rest of his family taking up and running, thus bringing them closer together (even while both his daughters are out of the house either working or off at college). Running helped the Foreman family happier in their every day lives.

While I was reading this memoir, I couldn’t help but relate a lot to how Foreman was describing running and what each training milestone meant for him. I’m a runner and I hope to some day run a marathon. I don’t want to run an ultra like he did, but I love running and how happy I feel when my feet hit the ground, adrenaline coursing through my veins. Everyone has something they love and I feel like Foreman really hit home with why runners enjoy running for no reason except to de-stress and/or train for an upcoming race.

Over all rating: 5/5 stars

One thought on “Book Review | My Year of Running Dangerously by Tom Foreman

  1. Thank you for the kind words and interest. It means a great deal to me to know my writing has touched any reader, but especially when it is a runner who, like me, clearly loves books. Thanks again.
    Tom

Leave a Reply

