Top 5 Wednesday | Top Authors I’ve Discovered This Year

Hope everyone’s having a great week so far! It’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday, which was originally created by gingerreadslainey. Anyone can participate by joining the goodreads group. This week’s topic is the top authors that you’ve discovered so far in 2015.

  • Ernest Cline – I don’t know why it took me up to this year to read Ready Player One, but it’s easily one of my favorite novels now that I have read it. I felt like I was living in the virtual reality that the majority of the novel is set in. The description and readability is just that enriching and addicting. I felt like I had been sucked straight into a video game and loved every single page.
  • Andy Weir – He only has one novel out, The Martian, but man is it outstanding. The dark humor told in first person from Mark Watney’s perspective is just spot on perfect. It really made the story stand out from all the other hard sci fi novels out there. And while the movie was a decent adaption, it’s just no comparison to the outstanding writing of the novel.
  • Patricia Briggs – A mass market author who writes urban fantasy. So far I’ve only read Moon Called, but I intend on reading Blood Bound soon. If you like werewolves, shape-shifters, vampires, the fae, and other creatures of the night, then I recommend you check out this author’s novels.
  • Jandy Nelson – I read I’ll Give You the Sun with my book club in July and oh my goodness is this author a wonder. The way she crafts a story and its characters, stringing it all together from past to present is just wondrous. Definitely check out this novel and I plan on reading her other (The Sky is Everywhere) at some point.
  • Ginny Rorby – I read How to Speak Dolphin at the beginning of summer and loved it. It’s very realistic to the subject matter and a great middle-grade contemporary novel that can be enjoyed by readers of all ages.

Let me know if you’ve read anything by any one of these authors, or if you’ve marked any of these authors’ books on your to-read lists. I’m always up for some book talk.

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Top Authors I’ve Discovered This Year

  1. I’m about to start reading I’ll Give You The Sun. I don’t believe i heard any of the other authors, though. Do you have any recommendations? Great post!

    1. The Martian by Andy Weir if you’re looking to read scientific science fiction with a dark humor/sarcastic tone told in first person from Mark Watney’s perspective. I also recommend Ready Player One by Ernest Cline to any fiction reader, especially of the nerd variety, because it’s just brilliant all around. Even if you don’t think you’d like it because it’s a sci fi, you probably will end up being surprised and loving it. Those are two of my favorite books of the year. I also highly recommend How To Speak Dolphin by Ginny Rorby because it’s a middle-grade that really describes autism quite well and how it affects the family dynamics. Even the therapy/school end was accurate (I work as a behavioral health teacher assistant in a K-2nd ASD classroom); I cried a couple times reading that book as it hit me harder than I was expecting it to.

      1. Ahh these sound awesome! Thank you! Immediately adding them to my TBR. How To Speal Dolphin really intrigues me since i havent read any books with an autistic protagonist. I’m glad to hear they describe it well (your job is pretty cool btw). I definitely need to get into more sci-fi, and the top suggestions sound perfect. I really want to see the Martian movie (i didnt even know it was a book!) But gotta read it before i see it haha thanks again!

      2. Well, How to Speak Dolphin isn’t from an autistic protagonist, but her little brother is autistic. It still doesn’t hold back from showing how his autism affects his sister’s life because their dad expects her to help out more than she should have to due to her mother having passed way a couple years prior to the beginning of the book. Definitely read The Martian first as they did leave out a few crucial spots from the movie for the purposes of cutting length, but the movie is still a great adaption.

      3. Ooh okay, it still touches on the subject though so I’ll definitely check it out! Movies always cut parts out which is a bit frustrating,it is always better to read the book first but at least it still a good movie

    1. Definitely read I’ll Give You the Sun straight through from start to finish, don’t take too long to read it because the way it’s written you might not enjoy it. One of my book club friends read it in the span of a couple weeks and she said it felt disjointed, but the rest of us read it in 2 days or less didn’t feel it was disjointed at all.

Leave a Reply

