Top 5 Wednesdays | Halloween Recommendations

Hello all, it’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday. T5W was created by gingerreadslainey and anyone can join the goodreads group. Here are my top picks that I enjoy reading in the fall and near Halloween.

  1. All Around the Town by Mary Higgins Clark – This is a psychological thriller I read back when I was in high school several years ago, though I’ve reread it a few times since (the last being earlier this year). The main character has multiple personality disorder, though the author tells the story in third person from a few different characters’ perspectives and we only meet her alters when she’s with her psychologist and it’s from his perspective. It’s also a murder mystery. I definitely recommend checking this one out as it’s my favorite Mary Higgins Clark suspense.
  2. I Hunt Killers by Barry Lygra – I’ve only read this first book, though I think you could probably read it as a stand-alone without feeling the urge to read The Game straight after. Sure, there’s a cliffhanger, but the main plot ends. The cliffhanger is just there to hint at what to expect in the next book. I did enjoy reading it, though. I’d probably compare it to the show Dexter.
  3. The End Games by T. Michael Martin – Even if you don’t like zombie novels, there’s a strong chance you’ll like this. It’s written as more of a contemporary read than your stereotypical zombie novel. Also, video gamers might enjoy this because the main character makes it a game on how many points one gets when they kill a zombie or get away with a point system. There’s a little bit of a romance, but not really. The main relationship is brotherly love between the main character and his younger brother. I’m not a fan of anything zombies, yet I really enjoyed this story. Side note, the ebook is on sale for 1.99$ on b&n for nook until November 2nd.
  4. Don’t Turn Around trilogy by Michelle Gagnon – I’ve only read the first two books in this trilogy, but I fully intend on reading the final book at some point. It’s a fast-paced thriller that will have you sitting on the edge of your seat. You could probably read it in a single sitting if you had the time stretched out before you. It’s that gripping.
  5. Second Glance by Jodi Picoult – This is a historical fiction/paranormal ghost story. I enjoyed it a lot the first time I read it and I’m tempted to pick it back up to read it again at some point down the line to refresh my mind. Some of it still stuck in my mind enough that I remember I enjoyed it and would like to read again.

Hope you have a great Wednesday and enjoy the rest of your week. Let me know if you’ve read/heard about any of these books.

Leave a Reply

